For your safety and per Public Order, mask wearing is MANDATORY for entrance into our hospital and clinics. Learn More

CHRISTUS St Vincent names new Associate Chief Medical Officer July 2, 2021

Jose Pablo Sterling, M.D., has been named Clinician Group Senior Medical Director and Associate Chief Medical Officer for CHRISTUS St. Vincent.

In his new role, Sterling will oversee clinical and business operations for CHRISTUS St. Vincent hospital and its associated clinics, collaborating with providers and senior leadership in the continuous advancement of quality and services. In addition, he will assist the Chief Medical Officer, and will work with hospital leaders to oversee and manage business and clinical operations while serving as liaison with the CHRISTUS St. Vincent Clinician Group.

Prior to being named Associate CMO, Sterling served as Surgical Physician Administrative Leader for the Clinician Group.

CSVs approach to growing its ranks of physician leaders ensures that we can adapt and grow with the community’s changing healthcare needs,” said Dr. David Gonzales, CMO. “Dr. Sterling’s experience and leadership will help improve provider communication and allow us to further enhance the already excellent care we provide our patients each day.

CHRISTUS St. Vincent is always looking ahead with regard to what the next generation of care should look like,” Sterling said. “That conviction to continuously adapt and address the needs of all populations within our community makes me proud to be part of this organization.

Sterling earned his medical degree from the University of New Mexico, completed his surgical residency at the University of New Mexico, and completed his Surgical Critical Care Fellowship, Trauma Surgery Fellowship and Clinical Burn Fellowship at the University of Washington - Harborview Medical Center. He is board certified in General Surgery and Surgical Critical Care.

Sterling also serves as co-Chair on the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma for the state of New Mexico and is the current Chair of the New Mexico Trauma System Fund Authority.